July’s Full Blessing Moon (7-27)

 

JulyFullMoon_zpse457a5d3[2]

July’s  Full Blessing Moon

Friday, July 27,2018

 1:20 pm PST / 2:20 pm MST / 4:20 pm EST
The Farmer’s Almanac calls this moon the Buck Moon because this is the time when bucks grow new antlers. Other names for this full moon are Thunder Moon, Summer Moon (colonial ), Hungry Ghost Moon (china), Ripe Corn Moon (Cherokee), Crane Moon (Choctaw), Moon of Claiming (Celtic), Mead Moon (Medieval English), Rose Moon, Blessing Moon (pagan).

The July moon is also being called a Micromoon, Minimoon or Apogee Moon.  This is because a Micromoon is further away, and will look smaller and less bright. There will also be a lunar eclipse ( the 2nd  this year) at 4:20 EST. It will be visible in large parts of Australia, Asia, Africa, Europe, and South America and  will last for 103 minutes, making it the longest eclipse of this 21st century. As an added celestial treat the Mars opposition will also be happening. The red planet will be very close and will be shining at it brightest!

The Buck Moon is a good time for divination, dream work and prosperity magick. The laid back energy of this moon also works well for meditation, so kick back and enjoy the feeling of the things you have accomplished this far or review your goals related to vacations or hobbies.. Add a little something extra to your magickal workings by using July’s herbs hyssop, lemon balm, mugwort, catnip or leaves from ash or oak trees.

You can also celebrate this months moon by wearing the colors blue-gray, silver or green and adorning yourself with moonstone, pearls, opals or a simple white agate.

Full Moon Blessings!

Cat


I invite you to check out my websites!

The Desert Path: The dusty ramblings of a desert pagan. https://thedesertpath.com/

 Cat’s Treasure Trove …. an eclectic collection of jewelry & gifts!  https://thedesertpath.com

 Sacred Spirals (the place where all paths meet)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SacredSpirals