December 29, 2020 Full “Cold” Moon

December’s Full “Cold” Moon
Tuesday December 29, 2020

Time: 7:28 pm PST/ 8:28 pm MST/ 10:28 pm EST

The final full moon of 2020 seems to have fewer names than other months. However our ancestors called this moon the Cold Moon, The Bitter Moon, Long Nights Moon, and the Big Winter Moon. It is during this month that the nights are at their longest and winter blankets the land in it’s cold grip. This is probably where the name Long Nights Moon originated. Our Old English/Anglo-Saxon ancestors called it the Moon Before Yule. Both names are appropriate for this season. The time of midwinter is indeed long and the moon sits just above the horizon seemingly forever.

The Cold Moon honors deities like Minerva, Osiris, Athena, Persephone and Hades. It is the perfect time to finish tying up loose ends and working through any remaining darkness from the past year. Take time to acknowledge the hardships and struggles that you have gone through and embrace the cycles of life, death and rebirth. It is through the experience of the dark times that we learn sun and warmth will alway cycle around and we will survive and continue, changed in ways that aid our personal cycle of growth. The work we do during this full moon will help us to welcome the rebirth of the Sun with open hearts.

To celebrate this full moon try wearing the triple goddess colors of white, red and black and adorning yourself with rubies, moonstone, serpentine or obsidian.

Full Moon Blessings! Cat

I invite you to check out my websites!

The Desert Path: The dusty ramblings of a desert pagan. https://thedesertpath.com/

Cat’s Treasure Trove …. an eclectic collection of jewelry & gifts! https://thedesertpath.com

Sacred Spirals (the place where all paths meet)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SacredSpirals/