August Full Corn Moon August 22, 2021

August Full “Corn” Moon

August 22, 2021: 5:01 PST/ 6:01 am MST/ 8:01 am EST

The Old Farmer’s Almanac calls this moon the Sturgeon Moon because the Native people of the Great Lakes and Lake Champlain knew this was the best time to catch these big fish. The lake sturgeon is the largest fish in North America and were at one time abundant in the lakes and rivers. I have also seen it called the Barley Moon or Corn Moon as this moon is also associated with grain and the rebirth we celebrated at Lughbasadh.

Other names for this moon are Dog’s Day Moon (Colonial American), Harvest Moon (China), Fruit Moon (Cherokee), Women’s Moon (Choctaw), Moon When All Things Ripen (Dakota), Dispute Moon (Celtic), Lightning Moon (Pagan).

Carry the harvest theme over into your magickal workings for the day. What can you sacrifice (harvest) today that will help you in the future. Make a list of the things that you are ready to sacrifice in this cycle. Spiritual and physical health are also good areas to work on at this time.

August’s Full Moon In Aquarius Is Basically the Luckiest — and Sexiest — of the Year

It will probably come as a surprise to exactly no one that Leo season, known for boosting self-assurance and empowering you to use your voice, will not be going out quietly this year. Read more……

Sacred Stones: carnelian, sardonyx, garnet, red agate, red jasper and tigers eye both gold and red.

Sacred Herbs & Flowers:: chamomile, poppy, basil, rosemary, rue, gladiolas, sunflower

Deities: Hecate, Mars, Hathor, Thoth

I invite you to check out my websites!

The Desert Path: The dusty ramblings of a desert pagan. https://thedesertpath.com/

Cat’s Treasure Trove …. an eclectic collection of jewelry & gifts! https://thedesertpath.com

Sacred Spirals (the place where all paths meet)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SacredSpirals/